The Story of Cute Coco

I got bitten by the horse bug early. We raised cows and there wasn’t room for horses on the farm. However, my grandpa had an affection for horses and would bring home various ponies for my sister and I to annoy. I can only imagine now how that must have infuriated my father.

It took several years, a decade in fact, to convince my father that I was indeed in need of an equine. After I had several horses of different personalities. All of them were quarter horses.

Once I was in college I took a step back from the horse world due to time and financial obligations. My hubby and I recently moved to the country and the idea of an equine friend was still in the back of my mind. I knew I wanted another horse, and had the money to do so, but I didn’t want to have one until the time was exactly right, and the animal was exactly right.

Since we moved to the country we had a place to put horses right at our house. Check one box. Then about six months later I was perusing some horse ads on social media. I follow several kill pen pages and liked the idea of taking a broke horse and giving them a shot. I had some specific criteria.

1) broke

2) easy keeper

3) gelding

4) short enough I could get on without a step.

Then popped up an ad for a tiny adorable dun gelding. The ad said he was older, and possibly a Paso Fino. Now the breed didn’t bother me much except this little guy checked every box. Something about him just clicked with me. However, I was still apprehensive about making the jump and figured someone would probably end up adopting him out and problem solved.

Boy was I wrong! The day before he was to be shipped for slaughter, he still had no interest and no one was willing to make his bail.

Insert sucker.

I had to wait four long days until I brought him home. He was skinny and needed some basic care like feet, and a bath.

He’s turned out to be the best little creature. He’s so willing. Despite his senior age, 27, if you point him at anything he does it. He’ll ride through pastures, chase cows, do arena work, go over obstacles, and do barrels.

After a 10 year hiatus it’s been the best time getting reacquainted with the horse world with this little guy.

And now we have three horses in our little herd. I really am a sucker.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started